top of page
  • Writer's pictureViliamu A

Design Sprints Reflections - DES200


The User-Interface App Design Sprint was a tough brief. We were tasked to create a transport app for children, which they would use around public transports; trains, cars, buses, et cetera. The brief really challenged me as a Designer, in terms of having to independently tackle this brief; researching tendencies and making assumptions for six year-olds, and such. Key areas I had to focus on was finding precedence; designs that already exist in which I can use to anchor my design forward into creating my own prototype.


My approach was to really rely on my precedence research in order to provide insights on how to make an even more effective prototype. What I struggled with in this sprint was having to research valid case study designs for my precedence research.



The 3D Modelling Toy Poster sprint was my most enjoyable sprint out of the three. Being that I was able to really channel my inner-self and having to highlight the most memorable times I had as a kid, and my experiences with toys. I was very imaginative with the toys I had around me - whether it was a wooden spoon, or a teddy bear; I would create countless scenarios, as a kid, meshing everything I had around me; example: a teddy bear flying on his broomstick (wooden spoon).


Throughout the whole sprint, I really had to focus more on my early stage works. I relied mainly on my assumptions to give me most of my ideas. Together with my experiences, and researches I found around NZ child toy trends and children tendencies - I created my prototype; Boogy Blade. In terms of how it looks, it seems a little misplaced and odd. The functionality of the toy was where I wanted to focus more on - having to create a sword that accompanies both music and a great toy for roleplaying. The toy is very interactive too - having three switches which each triggers a different color on the sword - along with music toggle playing.

This sprint was my most challenging sprint out of the three. I had to apply extra focus on this sprint due to my lack of knowledge in virtual reality, as well as creating 3D models for my space. My main target focus was having to create the prototype, as well as making solutions for it. Knowing little in the VR field - I had to find ways to visually express my ideas through VR - so finding alternatives that were slightly similar to my ideas made this sprint a lot harder. The process of making the pine trees, the plan layout, the particle emissions, et cetera.


In terms of the most easiest parts of this sprint, I found the early stages easier - tasked to create a VR space that resonated well with you as a child growing up.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page